Diversity in Physics, Finland (FinDiP)


About Us:

Diversity in Physics, Finland (FinDiP) is a working group of the Finnish Physical Society that aims to make physics (at Finnish universities) more diverse and inclusive. We welcome new committee members! 

The specific aims of FinDiP are to:

  • Raise awareness of:
    • benefits of diverse teams;
    • obstacles faced by researchers from under-represented groups at their workplaces and in their career development;
    • factors that make our work communities and spaces non-inclusive.
  • Increase the opportunities for all researchers interested in diversity and wellbeing to network, exchange information and discuss concrete measures to improve our workplace.
  • Promote and organise events related to diversity, equality, inclusivity and well-being, e.g. in national events such as Physics Days.
  • Maintain a national network of diversity and wellbeing groups across physics departments in Finland and international groups, and amplify the impact of their events.

Current Committee (as of autumn/2022):

Tuuli Miinalainen, co-chair, University of Eastern Finland, Department of Applied Physics  – tuuli(dot)miinalainen(at)uef(dot)fi 

Milica Todorović, co-chair, University of Turku, Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering  – milica(dot)todorovic(at)utu(dot)fi

Niyati Venkatesan, vice-chair, University of Jyväskylä, Department of Physics  – niyati(dot)a(dot)venkatesan(at)student(dot)jyu(dot)fi

Akbar Hossain, member, University of Jyväskylä, Department of Physics – akbar(dot)a(dot)hossain(at)jyu(dot)fi

Hanna Vehkamäki, member, University of Helsinki, Institute for Atmospheric and Earth System Research – hanna(dot)vehkamaki(at)helsinki(dot)fi

Ondřej Krejčí, member, Aalto University, Department of Applied Physics – ondrej(dot)krejci(at)aalto(dot)fi

Antti Lehtinen, member, University of Jyväskylä, Department of Physics – antti(dot)t(dot)lehtinen(at)jyu(dot)fi

Tays Miranda, member, University of Helsinki, Helsinki Institute of Physics – tays(dot)miranda(at)helsinki(dot)fi

Daria Anttila, member, University of Turku, Department of Physics and Astronomy – daria(dot)alekseeva(at)utu(dot)fi

Eija M. Tuominen, member, University of Helsinki, Helsinki Institute of Physics – eija(dot)tuominen(at)helsinki(dot)fi

Links and Contacts:

  • To become a committee member please contact any of our members.
  • Join our mailing list for updates on our activities – contact Hanna Vehkamäki.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook