The Finnish Physical Society: Annual report Summary 1.1.–31.12.2019

Board and officials Board as of 6.3.2019

Emilia Kilpua, chair (associate professor, Univ. of Helsinki) **Anu Kankainen**, vice-chair (associate professor, Univ. of Jyväskylä)

Teiko Heinosaari (Senior Research Fellow, Univ. of Turku) **Jack Lin** (researcher, University of Oulu)

Hannakaisa Lindqvist (group leader, Finnish

Meteorological Institute)

Otto Mankinen (PhD student, University of Oulu)
Jani-Petri Martikainen (university lecturer, Aalto Univ.)
Eira Seppälä (director, Spinverse)

Matti Silveri (academy fellow, University of Oulu)

Tanja Tarvainen (associate prof, Univ. of Eastern Finland)

Juha Toivonen (associate professor, Univ. of Tampere)

Board as of 21.3.2018

Rami Vainio, chair (prof, University of Turku) Emilia Kilpua, vice-chair (associate prof, Univ. of Helsinki) Anu Kankainen, Academy research fellow, University of Jyväskylä

Otto Mankinen, doctoral candidate, University of Oulu Minna Patanen, Academy research fellow, Univ. of Oulu Nonne Prisle, associate professor, University of Oulu Patrick Rinke, associate professor, Aalto University Eira Seppälä, director, Spinverse
Tanja Tarvainen, associate prof, Univ of Eastern Finland Juha Toivonen, associate prof, University of Tampere

Secretary: Ella Hänninen (VTM).

The Board had 5 meetings.

Members The register of members had 755 members in the start of the year: 36 full members joined, 39 members resigned or were removed. At the end of the year the register contained 752 members.

Honorary member Mikko Paalanen, and Fellow members: Helena Aksela, Kari Enqvist, Paul Hoyer, Olli Ikkala, Juhani Keinonen, Matti Manninen, Risto Nieminen and Juha Äystö.

Meetings and events

Physics Days 2019 were organised by University of Helsinki and were held on 5–7 of March in the main building of the University of Helsinki. Theme was *Enjoying Physics*. Number of participants was 364. Chair of the Local Organizing committee was Tapio Lampén and Chair of the Scientific Organizing Committee was Ilpo Vattulainen.

Young Physicist Prize 2018 went to

Lauri Niemi (University of Helsinki; Dimensional reduction in the study of the electroweak phase transition) and Olli Ahlstedt (University of Tampere; Elektronirakenteen tiheysfunktionaaliteoriaan perustuvat simulaatiot vedyn adsorptiolle Pt-Ni nanoklustereiden pinnoilla). Talk by each winner was given in the opening ceremony of 2019 Physics Days.

New homepages opened in spring: www.fyysikkoseura.fi

FPS Blog: Stories about Physicists is available at https://blogs.helsinki.fi/sfs-70/. The blog is edited by Emilia Kilpua and includes 44 stories of Finnish physicists and Physics related places and events.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Fyysikkoseura

Facebook: join in www.facebook.com by searching group "Suomen Fyysikkoseura".

Arkhimedes: 4 issues, Europhysics News: 6 issues

International activities / EPS

Emilia Kilpua participated in the Council meeting in April.

Finnish Young Minds: an organization under the Finnish Physical Society and part of the EPS Young Minds Project. Young Minds brings together young researchers from undergraduate level to post doctoral researchers. The aim is to increase interaction and collaboration among students and young researchers from local and national institutions, promote awareness of physics research to local communities outside academia and to build an international network.

National Committee of IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics)

- FPS Board has acted as the National Committee.
 Prof Esa Räsänen represented Finland in the IUPAP General Assembly, Sao Paolo, 2017.
- Finnish officials in IUPAP 2018–2020: Antti Manninen as a member in the commission on Symbols, Units, Nomenclature, Atomic Masses & Fundamental Constants, Pertti Hakonen as a vice chair in the Commission on Low Temperature Physics, and Ilya Usoskin as a member in the commission on Astroparticle Physics.

Women in Physics in Finland is now: **Diversity in Physics** (FinDip): has co-operation with IUPAP: *International Conference on Women in Physics*. Chair of FinDip: Milica Todorovic.