FPS Master’s Thesis Prize

The Finnish Physical Society awards an annual prize for an excellent Master’s thesis  in the field of physical sciences. The purpose of this prize is to support early career researchers and acknowledge them for the exceptional work.

Criteria: Master’s thesis has to be of an exceptional quality that includes a notable individual contribution. The theory and background parts  in the thesis have to be also exemplary and fluent in presentation. The grade is required to be the highest possible (5 in the grade 1-5 or Eximia at least if the grading is made using the Approbatur – Laudatur system). The thesis can be written in Finnish, Swedish or English.  The nominator needs to be a member of the Finnish Physical Society. The candidate does not have to be a member.

Process and decision: The selection procedure will have two stages:

  • Stage 1: Three top candidates will be selected based on the Finnish Physics Society’s board review of the theses and recommendations.
  • Stage 2: Three top candidates will write 1-2 pages public article of their thesis research that should be understandable for a physicists without expertise in the field. Alternatively, the candidate can make about five-minute video where they describe the research in the thesis. The board will decide the winner based on the thesis and the articles/videos.

Articles/videos will be published on the FPS webpages and possibly in Arkhimedes.

Decision: The decision will be made by the board of the Finnish Physical Society based on their own evaluation and received recommendations.

Prize: The prize is 1000 EUR and one year of free membership of the Finnish Physical Society. The prize can be also divided, if the board considers it justified. The prize will be awarded at Physics Days. The winners will be announced personally.

FPS Master’s Thesis Prize 2021: The call is now open. Master’s theses accepted in 2021 and meeting the criteria stated above are applicable. Use this eform to nominate the candidate. The deadline is on Monday 10.1.2022 at 23:59.

Earlier Prize Winners

2020: Sonja Kujanpää (University of Jyväskylä: Determination of the magnetic octupole moment of 173-Yb and a design towards laser-double resonance methods in an MR-ToF device) Link

2019: Markus Hiekkamäki (Tampere University: Unitary transformations of spatial modes for quantum experiments) and Mathias Fontell (Aalto University: Numerical Ray Tracing of Medium and High Frequency Radio Waves in the Terrestrial Ionosphere)

2018: Lauri Niemi (University of Helsinki; Dimensional reduction in the study of the electroweak phase transition) and Olli Ahlstedt (University of Tampere; Elektronirakenteen tiheysfunktionaaliteoriaan perustuvat simulaatiot vedyn adsorptiolle Pt-Ni nanoklustereiden pinnoilla). Link

2017: Risto Ojajärvi (University of Jyväskylä; Electron-phonon interaction in flat-band superconductivity). Link

2016: Erkka Lumme (University of Helsinki; Determination of the solar photospheric electric field for modelling of the coronal magnetic field and CMEs) and Saga Säppi (University of Helsinki; Aspects of Quantum Chromodynamics at Finite Density). Link

2015: Ari-Pekka Honkanen (University of Helsinki; Pallotaivutettujen kideanalysaattorien röntgendiffraktio-ominaisuudet). Link

Awardees of the 2018 Young Physicist Prize Lau­ri Nie­mi and Olli Ahls­ted­t (kuva: Riitta-Leena Inkinen)