Annual General Meeting MINUTES 25.4.2018

Time: Wednesday, March 21st, 2018 at 16:50–17:45

Place: LOGOMO, Teatteri-sali, Köydenpunojankatu 14, Turku

Present: 25 members and secretary (attachment 1)

1. Call to order

Rami Vainio, the president of the Finnish Physical Society, called the meeting in order and opened the meeting at 16.50.

2. Appointment of the meeting chair

Tapio Rantala was appointed to chair the meeting.

3. Appointment of the meeting secretary

Ella Hänninen was appointed to keep the minutes.

- 4. Appointment of two minutes checkers and two vote counters

 Jack Lin and Paul Hoyer were called on to examine the minutes and count votes.
- 5. Statement of proper notice and establishment of quorum The meeting was convened in due order and declared quorate.
- 6. Approval of the agenda Agenda was approved.
- 7. Presentation of the annual report, accounts and the auditor's report Rami Vainio presented the annual report, and the accounts & auditor's report.
- 8. Approval of the financial statement and discharge of the Board and other actors from liability for the accounts

The financial statement was approved. The Board and other actors were discharged from liability for the accounts.

9. Approval of the action plan for the upcoming term

Rami Vainio presented the action plan for the upcoming term. The action plan was approved.

10. Determination of the amounts of the membership fees

Rami Vainio presented the motion for membership fees: full 65 €, fellow 65 €, young 20 €, senior 60 €, supporting 1500 €. The fees were determined accordingly. (No fees are collected from honorary members.)

11. Determination of salaries and other remuneration

Rami Vainio presented the motion: No salaries are paid to the Board members. The Board has the right to decide on the salaries and remuneration of the employees. The travel expenses of the Board members can be reimbursed only as an exception in justifiable cases. The item was determined accordingly.

12. Approval of the budget for 2018

Rami Vainio presented the budget for 2018. The budget was approved.

13. Election of the Board chair

Rami Vainio was elected chair.

- 14. Election of the Board vice chair Emilia Kilpua was elected vice chair.
- 15. Election of the Board's remaining 6 to 10 members
 Board members were elected: Anu Kankainen, Otto Mankinen, Minna Patanen, Nonne Prisle,
 Patrick Rinke, Eira Seppälä, Tanja Tarvainen, Juha Toivonen.
- 16. Election of Finnish National Committee of IUPAP members Elected: FPS Board president, vice president, members, nobody else.
- 17. Election of an auditor, operations inspector and vice operations inspector Elected auditor: Arto Sopanen (KHT). Elected operations inspector: Risto Nieminen. Elected vice operations inspector: Kalle-Antti Suominen.
- 18. Establishment of the Fellow working group
 The Fellow working group was established: Keijo Hämäläinen, Kalle-Antti Suominen and Päivi
 Törmä.

19. Other business

To add in action report: *EPS, Quantum Electronics and Optics Division, Martti Kauranen (member).* To note: optics & photonics community does not get enough attention by the Physics Days.

20. Adjournment

Tapio Rantala closed the meeting at 17.45.

Signed by

Tapio Rantala Ella Hänninen chair of the meeting secretary

Jack Lin Paul Hoyer

examiner of the minutes examiner of the minutes